University Health Care System
(706) 722-9011


Radiography Class of 2006 Graduates August 2, 2006

The 19th class of the Stephen W. Brown School of Radiography graduated on Friday, July 7, 2006 at 6 p.m. in the Levi W. Hill III auditorium at University Hospital with a reception on the patio immediately following.

The graduates have successfully completed the supervised two years of clinical practice and theory in Radiologic Technology. The graduates are eligible to sit for the national certification exam from the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT). The ARRT’s credentials assure patients that the registered technologists who conduct medical imaging procedures have completed the prescribed education preparation, passed the appropriate exam and pledged to abide by stringent ethical requirements. University Hospital hires only the technologists with ARRT credentials. The program boasts a 100 percent pass rate for the first-time testing for 21 of the 23 years it has been in existence.

The 24-month program is accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT. The Brown School of Radiography adheres to the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) curriculum which ensures a quality education and sound knowledge and ethics for practicing in the workplace and passing the National Registry. This accreditation and curriculum assures the student of strict compliance with national guidelines in regards to all the facets of their education.

At the graduation ceremony, Sandy Ferguson won both of the graduating student awards. One award was the Doug Siverhus Award, formerly called the Outstanding Student Award. The second award was the Scholastic Award which is awarded to the graduating student with the highest GPA in the class.

Two awards are presented to the junior class students for outstanding clinical and didactic performance. The awards are for the cost of the next year’s tuition of $900. The Scholastic Scholarship Fund Award was presented to Leah Bohannon for having the highest GPA (4.0) in her class. Terry Morrow was presented the Clinical Scholarship Fund Award for being the clinically outstanding student.

Only 10-12 students are selected each year. Students complete two years of clinical rotations at University Hospital and The Imaging Center with special rotations at the Georgia Radiation Therapy Center and a private physician’s office. Congratulations to the Class of 2006.

The 2006 graduates pictured are (standing from left) Matt Nolan, Nick Greiner, Sandy Ferguson, Chris Fowler and Jody Conner.
(Seated from left) Stephanie LeFort, Valery Chrjapin, Philana Freeman and Natalie Gibson


© 2016   University Health Care System
1350 Walton Way, Augusta, Georgia
(706) 722-9011